Baking Powder Biscuits

There are some things so basic that even I don’t mess them up. These biscuits are one of them. They were the only biscuits my mom made when we were growing up and the second thing she taught me how to make on my own. Dad always said that whomever I married would be glad I knew how to make good biscuits. And yet again, time has proven my dad right!

Baking Powder Biscuits

2 Cups flour                                                       2 Tbs. sugar

4 tsp. baking powder                                     1/2 Cup shortening or lard

1/2  tsp. cream of tartar                                1 egg

1/2  tsp. salt                                                       2/3 Cup milk

  • Preheat your oven to 350*.
  • In a bowl mix together the flour, baking powder, cream of tartar, salt, sugar, and lard.
  • Next stir in the egg and milk.

Baking Powder Biscuits~ From a Montana Front Porch

  • Turn out onto a lightly floured surface and very gently knead the dough as little as humanly possible! The more you knead the harder your biscuits are going to get and you don’t want that! Think soft hands for soft biscuits.
  • It will come together nicely with little handling.

Baking Powder Biscuits~ From a Montana Front Porch

  • Now press the dough out with your hands until it is as thin or as thick as you desire. I like to make it about half an inch thick. They get bigger in the oven.

Baking Powder Biscuits~ From a Montana Front Porch

  • Back in the day before I bought a biscuit cutter from Pampered Chef and it became my best friend, I used a cup rim for the job of cutting out the biscuits. Cut them out with whatever you have and place on a cookie sheet or a beautiful stone like mine….

Baking Powder Biscuits~ From a Montana Front Porch

Ok so I’m kinda in love with this stone the same way I’m in love with my cast iron! If I could tell you to buy a certain cookie sheet or pizza stone, I would tell you to buy this one! I got it the same time I got my biscuit cutters from Pampered Chef. So, so, worth it!!

  • Anyway, back to the biscuits, they are ready for the oven now.
  • Bake for 12-15 minutes or until lightly golden. I don’t know why, but the golden didn’t show up in my picture.

Baking Powder Biscuits~ From a Montana Front Porch

Your now ready to use these guys with whatever food you so desire. Split them in half and place a fried egg and cheese inside for a much healthier version of an Egg McMuffin . Coat them with butter and jelly like my kids like to do. Use them with a good sausage gravy for a breakfast or dinner that is guaranteed to fill you up! Such a necessary recipe to keep on hand. If you use these in a way I didn’t list please let me know, I would love some new ideas!

Love from here,

Bobbie

10 thoughts on “Baking Powder Biscuits

  1. I have never heard of putting sugar or an egg in biscuits and I have made biscuits for 40yrs. Is this regional do you think? Do you taste the sweetness? I will have to try this sometime. Thanks for sharing. Deborah

    • You know Deborah, I have no clue if it’s regional! And I honestly don’t know if there is a sweetness factor either since they are the only biscuits I have ever made! I’m so used to them! That’s very interesting though, thank you for sharing! 🙂 ~ Bobbie

    • My Polish Grandma always puts eggs and a ton of sugar in her….very sweet and rich. My family usually just does a tiny bit of sugar with no egg. *i* have never heard of using cream of tartar in them! Thats the thing about biscuits: everyone really does do them differently!

  2. I really like this recipe! I brushed some honey on the top, they got a bit more brown. I also made a gluten free version of these for my daughter! 🙂 Thank you!

      • I substituted the flour for Bobs Red Mill All purpose baking flour, used about 3 cups of flour instead of 2. I have lots of Gluten free recipes, about 12 kinds of flour in the cabinet. LOL It is a learning curve, but fun to try the new recipes! The texture is always a bit different, like with these, they are a bit more fragile when cutting them…but the taste was good. Might add some xanthum gum next time, about a teaspoon, might help with that. 🙂

Leave a Reply

