Rosemary Olive Oil Bread

I admire people who plan things ahead of time. They always seem to be thinking of what comes next. I aspire to be one of those people someday. Maybe when I grow up I will be one of those people. In the meantime, I will be one of those people who can appreciate a bread recipe that can be thrown together quickly in the evening before dinner when I realize that yes indeed I forgot to bake bread this morning! Am I the only one? Am I the only one who, all of a sudden looks at the time and panics because I didn’t realize it was getting that late, and the kids are starving, and Jason is going to be home soon, and I haven’t even thought of what I am going to make for dinner, much less started on it!? Am I? Oh dear heavens please don’t tell me that I am!!

Yesterday was kinda one of those days, except I did think of dinner before five. I was proud!  Once I had decided on the main dish I remembered that this bread prepared really quickly the last time I had made it, so I crossed my fingers and hoped for the same results again. It delivered. Thank you so much fabulously easy bread! So, if there is anyone else out there who at some point in time needs a quick and easy bread, here you go!

Rosemary Olive Oil Bread        each loaf has 192 carbs

1 C. warm water                                                1/4 tsp. Italian seasoning

1 Tbs. sugar                                                         1/4 tsp. black pepper

2 tsp. yeast                                                           2 Tbs. olive oil

1 tsp. salt                                                               2 C. flour

2 Tbs. fresh or 2 tsp. dried rosemary         1 egg white with 1 Tbs. water for wash

  • Combine water, sugar and yeast. Let sit for 10 minutes. After the 10 minutes it will look like this…

Rosemary Olive Oil Bread From a Montana Front Porch

  • Next, stir in the salt, rosemary, Italian seasoning, pepper, oil and flour.

Rosemary Olive Oil Bread  From A Montana Front Porch

  • Turn onto a well floured surface and knead for 5 minutes. This is a very moist bread and the dough is sticky. I use a little less than half a cup of flour on the counter and my hands to keep it manageable but no more than that or it gets dry and doesn’t raise as nicely.

Rosemary Olive Oil Bread  From A Montana Front Porch

  • Place in a greased bowl and let rise until doubled, about 40 minutes.
  • Punch dough down. Place on a baking sheet and form into a round loaf.

Rosemary Olive Oil Bread  From A Montana Front Porch

  • Let rise until doubled, uncovered.
  • Coat the bread with the egg wash and then sprinkle with more rosemary.

Rosemary Olive Oil Bread  From A Montana Front Porch

  • Bake at 350 degrees for 20-25 minutes or until a deep golden brown.

Rosemary Olive Oil Bread  From A Montana Front Porch

Rosemary Olive Oil Bread  From A Montana Front Porch

See, a quick, easy bread, that looks like you slaved in the kitchen a lot longer than did! It is up to you if you tell those eating this bread how long it took you or not. If you don’t, they may be so impressed that they implore you to sit down and relax after all of your hard work. They may then proceed to do the dishes too! Oh what a beautiful thought!

Love from here,

Bobbie

24 thoughts on “Rosemary Olive Oil Bread

  1. Just made this tonight!~ Mmmm it was awesome! Warning though… read the recipe carefully LOL I have dried rosemary and put in 2 Tablespoons instead of tsp. It was VEEERY Rosemary’ish!~ Still delicious! Whole family loved it~!

  2. That looks super easy! We make a foccacia bread that is similar, but not as easy. I’ll have to try this. Bookmarking it. You do not disappoint for your recipes, if I recall!

    Oh the smell of yeast-y baking bread. The whole house smells yummy.

    PS — Have I been away THIS long? I’ve commented on like 5 posts in a row. I had no idea I had missed this many. So sorry…

  3. Seriously, this bread is so delish. And I haven’t messed up the making of it yet, which is saying something! Much love to all of you!

Leave a Reply

