French Bread

French bread, in my book, is fun to make. Not only do you get to play with the dough like you used to do with play-dough ( or in some people’s case, still do. No, I did not say I did! I was simply referring to other people who may like to use their childrens art supplies as if they were their own. I would personally never do such a thing. ), but it also always comes out so pretty! It’s golden and crunchy on top but soft in the middle. A wonderful baking experience. And an even more wonderful eating experience. I love to eat. Especially bread. These no bread diets that go around just sound painful to me! So I don’t do them. Ever. And that makes me happy! See, it’s a good thing all around, this french bread!

This recipe is out of my 1930’s Betty Crocker Cookbook and has never failed me.

French bread – If you are diabetic and need to know, each loaf has 397 carbs

1  1/4  C.  warm water                                               3 T.  Shortening

1  1/2 tsp.  salt                                                             4 C.  flour

3 T.  sugar

1 pack or 2  1/4 tsp. yeast

  • In a large bowl combine warm water, yeast, salt, and sugar. Stir until dissolved.

French Bread- From A Montana Front Porch

  • Now add the shortening and the flour.

French Bread- From A Montana Front Porch

  • Mix well.
  • Turn out onto a floured surface and knead until smooth.

French Bread- From A Montana Front Porch

  • Place into an oiled bowl, cover, and let rise until doubled. About 45 min. to an hour.
  • Now you’re going to roll the dough out into a rectangle. I don’t have specific dimensions that I go by. It changes every time I make it. Just try to keep it short enough that it will fit on your cookie sheet!

French bread- From A Montana Front Porch

  • Once your dough is rolled out like above, you are going to start with one of the long sides, and roll it tightly together. You know, just like I do when making a play-dough snake. Err, I mean just like some people do when using play-dough.

French bread- From A Montana Front Porch

  • Place on a cookie sheet.
  • Now use a knife and cut slits on the top 1-2 inches apart.

French Bread- From A Montana front Porch

  • Run your hand under cold water and then rub on the bread. I do this several times to make sure it is coated.
  • Do not cover and let rise until doubled, about 30 minutes.
  • Before placing in the oven, rub with cold water again.
  • Bake at 350 degrees until lightly golden.

French Bread- From A Montana Front Porch

  • Remove from oven.
  • Now you are going to mix up an egg wash. Mix together 1 egg white and about 3 tsp. water.
  • Use a brush and cover your bread with the wash. I do several coats of this also to make sure it’s good and coated.

French Bread- From A Montana Front Porch

  • Return your bread back to the oven to finish its goldening process. And yes, I am aware that ‘goldening’ is probably not a word, but I like it, therefore I will use it!
  • This last baking usually only takes around 5-8 minutes, but I like to hang around the oven during this time and peak a lot to make sure it doesn’t get too brown!
  •  When it is golden enough for you, remove and try to let it cool down a little before you start tearing into it! If you can’t resist though, just remember that I warned you it was going to be hot. And delicious! Oh, so, delicious!!

French bread- From A Montana Front Porch

Love from my heavenly smelling kitchen to yours,

Bobbie

 

27 thoughts on “French Bread

  1. How much yeast for this recipe? I love french bread, so will surely try this… it looks so easy, especially since I’m experienced with play dough.

  2. I kind of feel like your goal in love is to make me hungry! This looks amazing and I’m going to have to give it a try… xoxo

  3. Ha!! Guess what? I can make this, even vegan-ize it. I have an egg replacer (a pantry item, no less) that will replace the egg whites quite well. Definitely doing this one. Probably tonight for the kiddos. They’ll devour it, no doubt.

Leave a Reply

