Easy caramels

I was looking at this recipe the other day for these beautiful caramel apples. Seriously, these apples were gorgeous! I was daydreaming about making them and how my family would gather around them to ooh and ah before begging me to please let them taste my marvelous creations. Suddenly my daydream turned into a more realistic picture of what my “creations” would look like. Lets just say that my kids would probably still beg me to let them eat the apples but it wouldn’t be because they were so amazing to look at. Thankfully that didn’t deter me from wanting to make this fabulous creation of fall. What did was that I did not have a bag of caramels.

I bought a bag last winter with a specific purpose. I placed them in a safe spot in the cupboard where the radars of my children and husband would not find them. I then promptly forgot about them. Several months later I discovered them and proceeded to  “just have one and then use the rest for a special dessert.” Hahahaha!!!! Gotcha!

I then proceeded to let them live in hiding where I slowly reduced their population one at a time. All the while I am doing this in complete stealth mode. Because of the huge success of my mission, I have recently considered becoming a spy. Or a ninja.  I will keep you informed as important decisions are made.

Anyhoo, the point is that I didn’t have any caramels in the house to make my messy caramel apples with.  Move on several weeks and here we find me looking at this recipe for homemade snickers bars!!!!  Be still my beating heart! This too calls for caramels, which I still haven’t purchased, see previous posts where we discuss my cheapness. The only difference this time around is that I have to have a snickers bar!!! Period. No swaying me on this one. I have got to find a caramel recipe.

Enter the internet and five minutes later I am mixing me up some caramel. Since it was so so super easy and oh my word delicious!, I thought you might like the recipe so that we can learn to share with our children together. This recipe makes enough that we can do that! If you already know how to be a good parent and share with your kids, please don’t tell me. Oh and if you were hoping for the snickers recipe, well, I started out by taking pictures and then lost my focus when I started smelling them, so I don’t have pictures of half the process. However, they were so good that I’m sure we will be making them again soon, and I will remember to finish what I started just for you!

Super easy (and quick) caramel

1/4 Cup butter                                1/2 Cup light corn syrup

1/2 Cup white sugar                     1/2 Cup sweetened condensed milk

1/2 Cup brown sugar

In a medium sauce pan combine all ingredients.

Turn on the burner to medium high and start stirring. Bring to a boil and stir, stir, stir! Seriously, stir! It needs to boil for around 8-10 minutes with you stirring it the whole time. It will start out looking like this,

Very light-colored

then it will look like this,

and from there it will look like this,

Much darker and a thicker consistency.

From here you will want to either pour it into a very well-greased 9×13 pan or you will let it cool and use it for you amazing apples or snickers bars! If you are going to use it right away though, don’t let it cool the whole way or you won’t be dipping anything into it or pouring it anywhere. It gets very solid!!

Note: If you want a thinner caramel to add to say, the middle of a batch of brownies, and you want it to be gooey, cook this recipe for about six minutes.

Note # 2: Do not make the thinner caramels and think how cute they will be wrapped in wax paper and placed in your husbands lunch box as a surprise.

Note # 3: However if you husband likes to eat wax paper, disregard note #2.

From my sticky house to your probably-not-as-sticky-house,

Bobbie

22 thoughts on “Easy caramels

  1. Seriously laughing! I thoroughly enjoyed this. However, if I was to make the above recipe I would eat it all. No more sharing because my kids have flown the coop!

    Funny though, just yesterday I was talking to my daughter and she was laughing about a post she saw where a mom hides in the closet to eat a candy bar. I can’t tell you how many years I spent “sharing” my food because my daughters ALWAYS said “can I have a bite/drink”. And yes, I hid a snack or two my self.

    This was great! I can’t wait to see the home made snickers.

    • I used to hide pieces of cake from the local bakery in my dresser drawer when my kids were little and keep coming back to the drawer for bites between cleaning jobs! Not recommended for good weight control!!!

      • I keep the chocolate chips in the freezer since we get the big 10 pound bags of them. There are days, (ok, ok, almost every day) where I “need” some chocolate, so I stick my head in the freezer and chew fast. If the kids see me chewing anything, they ask what I’m eating. They also have the noses of bloodhounds and can smell chocolate from across the house, so I have to make sure to wash it down with something before talking to any of them. 🙂

      • HAHAHAHAHAHA! I love that! I remember my mom hiding her favorite cereal. I would hide mostly whatever my “favorite” thing was at that time. When the kids got older I had a drawer I kept “my” favorites in. They used to complain about it. I told them I would get them the EXACT same thing, but THEY can’t empty MY drawer. Because they would gobble it up.

    • Oh I’m so glad I could make you laugh! I think that hiding food from your kids is actually a common occurance that we just never talk about as moms. I share every single glass of whatever I have ( it’s a good thing I’m not a drinker!), and a bite out of almost everything I eat. The caramels were special for some odd reason! 🙂

      • I think you have outed us mom’s! It never occurred to me that other mom’s did this! Shhhhhhh! Let’s not tell!

      • Well, I think it might be too late! Maybe it’s a good thing hardly anyway reads my blog! LOL 🙂

      • They SHOULD read it. But…what the heck, maybe you should write the blog calling us all out on this. I really REALLY thought I was the only mom in the world who would hide the goods from the kids!

    • You guys are really making me laugh – and remember other things. When our first kid was about two my husband and I would splurge on pop when we drove on long car trips – but we didn’t want our two year old drinking pop, and especially in the car.

      So we would get a pop at the gas station, hide it on the way back to the car, turn the radio up really loud while we quickly tried to pop the little tab off the pop, and then hide the can from him while we took secret little sips.

      I can still remember the one time our little plan didn’t work and hearing our son call out from the back seat, “Heyyy, what was that?” when he heard the little pop tab come off.

  2. Fantastic article. I can cook hot dogs, scrambled eggs, hamburgers, make toast and coffee, and bake frozen dinners, and that’s about it. So, I’ll have to pass on your recipe to my wife, who can cook or make anything. I can’t wait till she makes some of these caramels! This will be really be a homemade treat. Nothing against our kids, but our kids are grown and gone, so these caramels will be all mine, minus what my wife eats, of course. Thank you very much !

  3. This was so funny! I was laughing the whole way through. At least when my mind wasn’t on those DELICIOUS CARAMELS!!!!!!! Now I really want the Snickers bars recipe – I’m afraid I might have to google it!

  4. Oh, Bobbie, I was laughing through that entire post, which is difficult for me since my upper lip and part of my nose is inflamed by poison ivy. Smiling and laughing like that is not very comfortable!

    Okay, that is the FIRST recipe post I’ve seen that could sway me to give up veganism. Seriously. I wouldn’t even know how to “veganize” it (modifying it without the milk and butter), since I’m certain most of the goodness for the tastebud comes from the fat in the cow’s milk. Bummer. I’ll just have to take your word for it that it is out of this world (which I’m sure it is).

    Never mind. At least I have me some no-cheese scrumptious cheesecake in the fridge to tide me over for sweetie-treats. It ain’t Snickers or caramels, but it’ll do me!

    Great post…keep ’em coming.

    • Ouch!! I’m sorry, but I have to ask. Did you find said ivy in your neighbors donated bags of leaves? 🙂 I hope you feel better soon! As they say though, laughter is the best medicine so you should now be on the road to recovery! 🙂
      Your welcome!

      • Ha! That WOULD have been hilarious, now wouldn’t it? No, this poison ivy came from hand-trimming hedges in the middle of the week. I knew that I came in contact with some and went in right away to wash my hands and arms. They were unaffected. What I DIDN’T factor in was that I had already wiped the dripping sweat off my lip, neck, and forehead – passing the urushiol unknowingly in the process. I didn’t wash my face too…

        Next time. I’ll remember. 🙂

  5. Oh, how you make me laugh! Now, you don’t mention how you cut these caramels (or do you eat them with a spoon while still warm?), or if they can be packaged for mailing. I will send you my address. Love this–I’m going to have to share the post and make the caramels!

Leave a Reply

