Amish White Bread

Variety is what makes life interesting right? Obviously not in all areas but when it comes to something simple like baking, variety is good.

Finding the perfect recipe now, that can take a while. I have tried many recipes that had somewhere in the name the word “best”.  I have come to realize after trying all of these recipes that there are many different tastes in the world. We can’t all like the same things obviously. As my Grandma used to say, “If we all liked the same things then everyone would be after Grandpa.” Then she would chuckle.

So while I know that not everyone will agree with me, this recipe makes a very good loaf of white bread. It’s simple to follow, bakes beautifully, freezes nicely, and slices easily. All things that make me happy with bread. And, as Jason would testify, baking that makes me happy is good for the whole family!

I’ve added the carb count for each loaf for diabetics.

Amish White Bread        carbs per loaf – 278 

2 Cups warm water                                                 2/3 Cup sugar

1  1/2 Tbs. yeast or two packs                              1  1/2 tsp. salt

1/4 cup oil                                                                   5  1/2 Cups flour

 

First dissolve your sugar and yeast in the warm water, then let it sit until it becomes nice and foamy. Like so,

The kids love to watch this part.

Next mix in the salt and oil.

Now add the flour a couple of cups at a time mixing well. Place on a well floured surface and knead until smooth.

Place in an oiled bowl,

cover, and let rise until doubled, about an hour.

Take the dough out of the bowl, and knead it for just a little bit. The recipe said for a couple of minutes but I have never done it that long. Roll it out into a big log like you used to do with play-dough. Roll it for a while as this will make the insides stick together so when you later cut it, you won’t have the big holes in the center that your jelly falls through. I hate when that happens.

remember to think play-dough here!

Cut in half and place in your two well-greased loaf pans.

Cover again and let rise until the dough is one inch over the top of the pan.

Look at the nice one in front, not the funky one trying to hide in the back! I’m not sure what happened to him!

Bake at 350* for about half an hour. It will be a beautiful dark golden brown on top and sound hollow when you tap on it. Remove from pans as soon as you can and cool on a wire rack or they will continue to bake and get dark on the bottom. Learn from my mistakes!

Now this, this makes me happy!

Love from our jelly seepage-less kitchen,

Bobbie

 

 

 

 

10 thoughts on “Amish White Bread

  1. Nothing like the smell of bread baking in the oven. Now this is a recipe I can totally do! BTW – the oatmeal sammies were a smashing success. I forgot to comment on your post! 🙂

      • This looks like one my girls can make (with minimal intervention on my part). Maybe I’ll let them “cook” for us this weekend with your Amish bread. I’ll let you know how it turns out! (PS – those oatmeal sammies are a hit, had a request to do them again this weekend.)

      • Baking in the kitchen with budding little ladies is priceless! This one will be a cinch, and they’ll love it too. My kitchen is absolutely the worst for groups, even small ones (like kids). Really. It is a true One. Butt. Kitchen.

  2. Mmm, this is making me want to make bread! Just found your blog today – I am also a blogger from Montana – the Bitterroot Valley. I love the name of your blog, by the way!

Leave a Reply

