In need of a nap

It’s the start of a new school year, and it’s fall. Both I think, are perfect excuses to take a nap.

She has the right idea!

Unfortunately, that’s not the way it works around here. Unless of course you are a spoiled kitten who gets to sleep through classes.

She doesn’t care about the inner workings of her ears.

I have found that the stronger my urge gets to curl up in a ball somewhere, the more work I seem to have to do. Coincidence? I think not! I am almost certain that it’s all a conspiracy my kids have hatched to see if they can push me off the deep end. You know, like children do when there is a substitute teacher. These kids of mine are crafty that way. All I long for is this,

So cuddly

and they give me a magic pile of dishes and laundry that multiplies itself on its own, I swear!!! The floors need swept and mopped and please for the love of my sanity don’t touch anything, or you will see how badly I need to dust. Oh, and don’t even ask to use my bathroom at the moment, a woodrat decided to make a nest in the ceiling and we aren’t going there right now! That’s another post. I need to bake and figure out whats for dinner. One of the kids got sick in the van and I need to go scrub it clean. The garbage needs taken out and the calves need fed. I need to find a home for the new furniture and get rid of the old. The upstairs needs rearranged and the kids’ toys purged. I have diagrams that I need to make for classes and papers to grade before we start school for the day. It’s not even eight in the morning and I’m already daydreaming about this.

*SIGH*

Wait, whats that sound? The kids are waking up!

Aw, look at their sleepy eyes and bed-head.

Aw, they want, yes actually want, morning hugs and kisses. Can I hold my breath without them noticing or tilt my head at just the right angle to avoid the fumes?

Aw, look at them being nice to each other. Oops, you missed it!

Ok, so a nap is still a daydream that will not be happening in my forseeable future. So is a perfectly clean house. And kids that always get along and never test my sanity limits.

However, this crazy, loud, chaotic and dirty life is mine and I wouldn’t trade it for anything. No, not even for a nap. Or uninterrupted time in the bathroom. That’s how much I love it!

From my mess,

Bobbie

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “In need of a nap

  1. Uninterrupted time…what’s that? You mean when I’m ALONE in the house? LOL

    I think you are living vicariously through the furr-muffin there. I saw the word “need” associated with chores. P’shaw!! Get yer nap. When baby naps, Mommy naps. It’s a law, I think. If not, it should be.

    PS – I have the ingredients to make your yum-o oatmeal sammies. It’s raining. Do you think the kids would like them as an afterschool treatie-tread?

Leave a Reply

