Crock-Pot Enchiladas with homemade tortillas

Is it just me that has trouble finding dinners that nobody can find a complaint with? Or dinners that nobody complains about, that are easy also? And affordable? And, and , and…… The more people you add to the table the higher your chances are of not being able to please someone. Maybe I should have thought of this before having five children. I like to feed my family food that they will enjoy. I like to feed company food they will enjoy. Why? Because see, here’s the deal, I am not the parent who makes multiple meals to please picky eaters. You either eat whats on the table or you wait for the next meal. Do I like to see my kids hungry? No, but they were the ones that chose to spite themselves by not eating. I have eaten things that I didn’t care for and I survived. I don’t want to raise the child that goes to someones house and asks for other food because they don’t like what is available. I wasn’t raised that way and neither was Jason. Manners are manners whether they are directed at me or at someone else. So now that I’m stepping off of that soapbox, I will continue with what I originally intended to write!

Where in the world was I taking this? Oh ya, food that pleases everyone. It doesn’t happen often, but every-now-and-then I find a golden recipe. These tortilla shells are on of them. Super easy to make, better than store-bought and they have unanimous approval from the small fries. Also, super cheap! Right around a dollar’s worth of ingredients to make 15!  Win/win!

The enchilada recipe is from my mom and growing up I can’t remember any of us ever saying that we didn’t like it. The same goes with my kids. And every single person I have served it to.  So with that much going for these two, I figured I would share and hopefully make somebodies dinner preparations a little easier. Oh and obviously store-bought tortillas can be used in place of the homemade but I do encourage you to try them. Seriously super easy!

I have also figured out the carb count for any diabetics out there.

Tortillas                       356 carbs total or 24 carbs each if you make 15 with this recipe

4 cups flour                                                       2 Tbs. lard

1 tsp. salt                                                            1  1/2  cups water

2 tsp. baking powder

First you are going to whisk the flour, salt and baking powder together.

flour,salt and baking powder

Next you are going to mix the lard in with your fingers until the mixture is crumbly. Like so…

crisco mixed in

Now add the water and mix until the dough comes together.

after water

Place on a lightly floured counter and knead until smooth and elastic, about 3 minutes.

ready for action

You are now going to rip pieces off of the dough ball and roll them into smaller dough balls about the size of your palm.

with this size you will average 15 tortillas

Flatten them out slightly with your hand,

then roll them out to your desired thickness.

nice and thin

Note: unless you are amazingly talented, these will not look like the ones in the store. Mine are always the most interesting shapes! You can buy a tortilla press, but I don’t like to have something that takes up precious kitchen space and only has one purpose. Besides, no matter the shape, these still taste amazing!

look at these fun shapes!

Now once they are rolled out, you are going to place them, one-by-one into a very hot skillet. I use my cast iron skillet because it heats so nicely but whatever you have will be fine. This part doesn’t take long, several seconds on each side. Just until they are starting to brown.

side one

Flip them over and repeat.

side two

I usually double the recipe and freeze half of them for future use. If I don’t freeze them immediately though the kids eat them before I realize what they are doing!

so satisfying!

Crock-Pot Enchiladas      290 carbs total or 36 carbs if cut into 8 servings

1 lb. hamburger

1 can each: pinto beans, black beans, and kidney beans

1 can diced tomatoes

1 can green chilies

chili powder and cumin

cheddar and Monterey or mozzarella

Start by browning your hamburger.Then add the rest of the ingredients except the cheese. Simmer for a bit to combine the flavors.

loving all the colors

Now place a layer of the filling in the bottom of your crock-pot.

layer one

Place a tortilla on top then cover with cheese.

Repeat the layers until you are out of your meat/bean mixture.Place the lid on and turn your crock-pot on low for two hours-ish or if you don’t have that much time, high for half an hour or until all the cheese on top is melted.

Slice like you would a pie, serve and enjoy! Let me know what you think!

Love,

Bobbie

9 thoughts on “Crock-Pot Enchiladas with homemade tortillas

  1. Awesome! And I WHOLE-HEARTEDLY agree with your soapbox rant in the intro….I don’t have kids yet, so I know it is easy for me to judge, but this is one of those things that makes me nuts about the way some people raise their kids today. NUTS, I tell you! 🙂

  2. I raised two different sets of kids. Both times, it was, eat what’s cooked or fend for yourself and clean up afterward. Most times, everyone ate. If not, no one died of hunger. 😀 Nice post, though I’m a pescatarian. Good for you, Momma!

  3. Add the tomatoes or tomato puree and ensure you cover each of the onions with it.
    2 lbs chicken breast, cut into strips. In a lot of cases, the best types of meat to
    make use of in slow cooking are often the less costly cuts because
    the greater fat content means that the meat becomes beautifully
    tender throughout the duration of cooking.

Leave a Reply

