It’s HOW far to the Hospital ?!

Once upon a time I gave birth to a beautiful baby boy and we named him Beau. He is our fourth child and everybody thought that we were crazy for having four. It was very common to have people ask us when we were going to have our next one since, well, honestly, I don’t know why that was considered funny but it was, so we were asked it A LOT! We were done though, four was definitely the right number of kids for us.

( I mean, I don’t think you could fit any more cuteness into a photo anyway, so why try?!)

With this knowledge comes happiness in knowing that the last child is in diapers, my sleepless nights are almost over, I can actually start doing some things easier, like oh I don’t know, everything! Going hiking with ease or horseback riding were within my reach, especially since we had moved to this amazing ranch where all of that stuff is right outside my door!! Oh the tantalizing taste of freedom!!

NOTE:

This is where I need to stop and clarify something for everyone, whether you know me or not. I love my children. I adore them to the deepest part of myself. I can not for one second imagine a life without one of them, they are who I am.  So while I am talking about tasting freedom, I am not imagining ways to give them away, ( especially since I’m sure whoever took them would pay me to take them back!), or wishing that we had done things differently. That is not something that I can even comprehend!

Ok now that that’s taken care of, where was I? Oh yes, freedom to move around easier was finally within my grasp! And then we had to eat our words and admit that maybe five was the right number for us after all………

I actually put the telling of this fact off as long as I possibly could, which considering that we do live in the middle of nowhere, was fairly easy to do! It’s not that I wasn’t happy about another baby, after a couple of days of getting used to it, I was excited. It’s just that I remembered everyone’s thoughts about us having four and I didn’t want to listen to them again. I was being a chicken, I knew it, and I didn’t care!  Eventually the telling was done and no one died of shock.

Now like I have said before, we live in the middle of nowhere. To give you an idea of what exactly I mean, I was seven months along before anyone up here knew I was expecting, and that’s only because Gabe is a blabber mouth and couldn’t help but tell the only person he had seen in a long time, the exciting news. So now you know how infrequently I see people!

As my final pregnancy winds down to the last ten days!!!!, I have one real worry. The hospital is an hour and a half away. Need I say more? AAAAHHHHH!!!! I have heard many wonderful stories about the men and women up here who have got to deliver their own children on the way since its not exactly down the street to the ER. I’m sure these stories were told with the intention of, umm, encouraging ?, or warning me, but honestly there are some things you just don’t tell a woman about until afterward, and this was one of them! Yes Jason has calved. Yes we have four other children that he was present for. Yes he could do it. That does not change the fact though, that I don’t want him too! Oh and he doesn’t want to do it either!

So for now, that’s my only concern about having five dirt collectors instead of four. Really, my house is already loud and crazy, what can change that much with one more? I will worry about thatafter I’m done worrying about getting to the hospital in time. Until then everything else seems like a piece of cake!

Love,

Bobbie

 

10 thoughts on “It’s HOW far to the Hospital ?!

  1. Cute, cute family! {Almost} congrats on your next new little addition! I understand your trepidation with the distance to the hospital. While not having had the chance to be in your shoes myself, our little town is also a distance away from the nearest hospital that delivers babies! Tell your husband to drive FAST! 😉

  2. You know… my little sis and husband live right close to the hospital in Livingston…. I mean it’s a block away!! They have two spare rooms upstairs and a full basement… a back yard and I’m sure she would love to have a visitor (s) for a night or two… if you wanted to come in a day or two early……. let me know if you would like her number!! And DON”T be shy!!

  3. You do have the most disgustingly adorable children ever, and Liberty joining the pack will only make them that much more so! And yes, Jason, drive FAST! MUCHO Love!

  4. I’m ABOUT to re-enter the blog world, but can’t seem to find the motivation to write! & I’m PRETTY sure it’s because I haven’t caught up on all of my favorites over the last few months! ❤

    HONEY, you're one of the best moms I know. You'll know EXACTLY when to leave to get there on time, and if God's got another plan for you, he's already figured out the ending too! It would be stressful to be far away, but at the same time OMG CAN YOU IMAGINE THE MEMORIES THAT DISTANCE IS ALREADY CREATING?! Good God woman, if you forget your camera just in case, I'll e-smack you.

    I can't wait to "meet" her! ❤

    • E-smack me huh?! LOL thats the funniest thing I’ve heard all day! LOL LOL LOL

      Thank you for reading Nomz, I have to say that the thought of you reading always scares me since you have a way with words that makes me feel somewhat pathetic! I can’t wait for you to start writing again! The blogging world is waiting…… 🙂

      Oh and don’t worry, I won’t forget the camera! 🙂

  5. Here here! Four is the PERFECT number of kids, it is for me anyway. And I remember those days of diapers and sleepless nights not too long ago. I had all four of mine in 4-1/2 years. That was insanity!

    Your family is just beautiful. Your oldest just makes me smile.

    • We thought 4 was perfect too but I have a feeling 5 will be fabulous! 🙂 4 in 4-1/2 years is insanity, but I bet its also a blast! My guess is they either get along great or are fighting like cats and dogs, thats how my brothers and I were!

      Thank you for the compliment, I think that they are pretty special myself. 🙂 And yes Tucker is a cutie!

Leave a Reply

