Toffee-Mocha Cream Torte

Kids are really good at handing out the truth. They don’t do it to be rude. They do it because we are always telling them to not lie and to tell the truth. What do you do then when they throw something at you that makes you stop and go hmmmm.?

My oldest is very diplomatic and soft hearted. He does not like to hurt anybodys feelings and if he thinks he has he will quickly do something to try to make it better. He is also very helpful and has the memory of an elephant so I will ask him to remind me of things when the need arises. Take our last trip to town for instance. I needed to remember to get bananas at the store and I knew since they weren’t wrote down that I would forget them. (Memory is definately not my strong point.) So as soon as I thought of them while driving, I asked Tucker if he would please remind me when we were at the store to pick some up. I laughed when I asked him and added onto the end of the request, the very true statement ” since you know that mommy doesn’t remember anything!” I was watching him in the mirror when I said it, so I caught his eye roll and nod of the head. Agreeing silently was his way of  A: not lying by denying what I had said and  B: not hurting my feelings by agreeing out loud. It made me stop and think though. How often have I told them I was going to do something and then let something else distract me from it or just forget about it altogether? I could use a ton of excuses, lack of sleep, pregnancy, 4 kids ect. ect. . But the fact is this, when they tell me they are going to do their chores and they don’t because they get distracted by playing, they get in trouble. I don’t like double standards so how can I have one when it comes to doing what I say I’m going to do? It really made me think.

I like to bake in the morning so that its done and I’m not trying to finish it while making dinner. So when the kids and Jason all mentioned that they would like a dessert for the next night, I knew that I needed to decide what I was making the night before so I had a game plan when morning rolled around. Ya well, by the time dinner was over and the kids were in bed I had forgotten. Tucker reminded me the next morning while we were doing school.I told him that after school was over I would figure out what we would have. He’s a smart boy, so after school and lunch were over he reminded me. 🙂 A million reasons ran through my head about why I should wait till tomorrow morning to make it. And then I focused on the one reason I needed to make me make a dessert. He was staring at me, so it was hard to ignore.

Out came the recipe book and what resulted was a dessert so amazingly delicious that it didn’t last more than 24 hours in our house. I wasn’t planning on posting this recipe the first time of making it so I didn’t take any pictures of the process, but due to the high demand for it, here it is anyway! I hope somebody enjoys it as much as we did!

Toffee-Mocha Cream Torte     -taken from the Taste of Home Winning Recipes Cookbook

1 Cup softened butter

2 eggs

1-1/2 tsp. vanilla

2-2/3 C flour

3/4 C baking cocoa

2 tsp. baking soda

1/4 tsp. salt

1 cup buttermilk ( I never buy buttermilk so when something calls for it I put a little bit of vinegar in the bottom of my measuring  cup and then add the milk. Let it sit for about a minute so it can thicken up a little and then use. For a cup of buttermilk I probably use 1/4 inch of vinegar. )

2 tsp. instant coffee granules

1 C boiling water

Topping:

1/2 tsp. instant coffee granules

1 tsp. hot water

2 C. heavy whipping cream

3 Tbs. brown sugar

1 package toffee bits ( I also added a couple handfuls of chocolate chips to satisfy my chocolate cravings 🙂  )

In a mixing bowl cream the butter and sugar. Beat in the eggs and vanilla. Add the flour, cocoa, baking soda and salt, alternately with the buttermilk.  Dissolve the coffee in the hot water and add to the batter. Beat until smooth.

Pour into 3 greased and floured 9″ round cake pans. Bake at 350* for 16-20 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean. Cool for 10 minutes before removing from pans to wire racks to finish cooling.

For topping, dissolve the coffee in hot water and cool. Add cream and brown sugar, then beat until stiff peaks form.

Place one cake layer on a plate and top with 1/3 of the cream. Sprinkle with 1/3 of the toffee and chocolate. Repeat layers. Store in the refrigerator until your ready to eat it or the cream will melt and slide your cake in different directions. Trust me I learned this by experience!

Image

Mine slid in different directions as you can see but it still tasted amazing!

Leave a Reply

