Homemade hamburger buns! So much better than the other kind!

We grocery shop once a month. With both of us and four ( almost five) kids, this can be challenging. And expensive! As I wrote in my post on homemade bread, I’m cheap.( I am not afraid to admit it either.)I’m so cheap that I never bought hamburger or hotdog buns. You could use bread for that right? Why spend money on something else? It drove Jason nuts!  (Thats something I do a lot since I get secret pleasure out of it! 🙂 )

Anyway, when we started baking all of our own bread it had a snowball effect on the rest of our very long shopping list. We started to look at it with the question of ” what else can we make ourselves with ingredients that we already have on hand?” One of the first things Jason wanted to find was a hamburger bun recipe. Now I will admit to two things here. First of all, I really did forget about trying them a good number of times and was honestly not just ignoring his request! Secondly, my mind was still geared towards the thought of why do we need them? Use bread!!! There was one problem with this though, and it ties into the cheap side of me. When you use slices of homemade bread for a hamburger bun there is always too much bread. This means that my kids were, *gasp* ,wasting the edges of the bread that I had slaved over! And since I couldn’t blame them for doing what they were doing, something obviously had to change!

The search was on and it didn’t take me long to find a very simple recipe in one of my old cookbooks. I made these a couple of days ago and I can state two things with all honesty. These were SO SO  easy it wasnt even funny! Seriously! And they were AMAZING!! The kids wanted to eat them right out of the oven they smelled so good. What wasn’t used with our dinner that night, cream cheese filled hamburgers ( that recipe will be posted next), was used for lunchmeat sandwiches the next day. These buns will not sit around your kitchen getting stale I promise you! All I ask is that you try them just once. If these had ever been on my grocery list to start with they would definitely be removed now! Let me know what you think!

Homemade Hamburger  or Hotdog Buns

1 C milk                                                              1 pack yeast

  1/2 C water                                                       2 TBS sugar

  1/4 C butter                                                      1  1/2 tsp salt

  4  1/2 C flour                                                    1 egg

First heat your milk, water and butter in a small saucepan until very warm. I had mine warm enough to melt the butter but not hot enough to scald the milk. Just keep an eye on it.

Next, or during, in a large bowl, mix together 1 3/4 C flour, yeast, sugar and salt.

After your milk has been heated enough that the butter melted, let it cool till its lukewarm to the touch. When it is then add it to the flour mixture and mix well.

Next add the egg, and mix well.

Stir in the remaining flour a cup at a time. I saved the last 1/2 cup to sprinkle on the counter and on top of the dough before kneading it. I didn’t want to add too much extra flour to the dough to keep the buns as tender as possible.

Turn out onto the floured surface and knead until smooth and elastic. This dough was so nice to work with! Super soft!

Now your going to divide this into 12 equal ( or as close to equal as you can get ) pieces, and shape them into smooth balls. Place them on two greased cookie sheets and flatten them slightly with the palm of your hand.

Cover and let rise for 30-35 minutes. Bake in a preheated oven at 400* until golden brown.

For hotdog buns your going to divide the dough into 16 equal balls. Roll them out into 6″ x 4″ rectangles. Starting with the 6″ side, roll up tightly, and pinch the edges and ends to seal. Let rise 20-25 minutes and bake till golden brown. I haven’t made the hotdog buns yet so I don’t have a picture but they sound easy enough!

10 thoughts on “Homemade hamburger buns! So much better than the other kind!

Leave a Reply

