RSS Feed

Homemade Oatmeal Cream Pies

All the goodness

I’m a Little Debbie fan. Even though they leave that chalky after-taste and are never big enough, I like them all, except for the nasty Zebra Cakes! UCK!!! Those were always my brothers favorites, which goes to show that I will never understand boys! My favorites were always the oatmeal cream pies. The good news about my brothers having bad taste was that mom would buy both kinds of cakes for us and I would get most of the good ones for myself. I say most, since when all the gross cakes were gone they would lower their standards to eat mine. Ok, Ok, so mom didn’t buy them just for me, but still!!

Enter the adult Bobbie who doesn’t like to spend the money on snack cakes. I can see my parents shaking their heads as they read this!  I’m not as nice as they were. That’s why my kids rely on them for their supply of Little Debbies. And yes, every visit or care package sees them well stocked up!

Normally, waiting for their next supply of snacks and stealing one would be enough for me. However, this time around the box of cream pies came from the great-grandparents, and there was only one box!! Do you know what that meant? It meant that there was just enough there to whet the appetite and leave all of us wanting more. Oh the horrors!!!

Enter Pinterest. I am now the proud owner of an oatmeal cream pie recipe. *grins all around* The original recipe is off of www.cravingcronicles.com  and I have to say, her pictures of the finished product are much nicer than mine! Regardless, I’m going to share them with you anyway! I’m nice that way.

Oatmeal Cream Pies  

Cookie Ingredients:

1 Cup Marj. or Butter                                     1  1/2 Cup flour

3/4 Cup brown sugar                                     1/2 tsp. salt

1/2 Cup sugar                                                    1 tsp. baking soda

1 Tbs. molasses                                                 1/4 tsp. cinnamon

1 tsp. vanilla                                                      1  1/2 Cup oats

2 eggs

Step one is to cream together the butter, sugars, molasses, vanilla and eggs.

Step one

Step two is to add the flour, salt, baking soda, and cinnamon. Mix well.

Step two

Well mixed.

Now add the oats, and again, mix well!

Step three

Drop by tablespoonfuls onto ungreased cookie sheets. Make sure to have an even amount, unless of course you want the spare cookie that needs to be eaten when no one is looking. Sounds suspicious? What? I don’t know what you’re talking about!

The bigger the scoops the bigger the pies at the end! Remember how the ones in the box are never big enough!

See, no spares here!

Bake at 350 degrees for 8-10 minutes, or until the edges are starting to brown. They will still look a little wet in the middle but you don’t want them crunchy! Let them cool and try to keep the kids out of them.

Filling:

2 tsp. HOT water                                               1/2 Cup shortening

1/4 tsp. salt                                                          1/3 Cup powdered sugar

1  7 oz. jar marshmallow cream                   1/2 tsp. vanilla

Dissolve the salt in the hot water and let cool. While that is cooling combine the rest of the ingredients and beat till fluffy. Add the salt water and mix some more.

Filling

Nice and fluffy.

I even broke out the electric mixer for this one, which I normally don’t do. My arms weren’t feeling strong enough after all the push-ups my sister-in-law has been making me do lately. You know, getting toned and all that stuff. No, the irony is not lost on me that I couldn’t hand mix my creamy filling because I did too many get-into-shape-exercises. By the time she’s done with me, I’ll be able to throw out the darn mixer! See, I have goals too!

Now finally, the part you have been waiting for, assembling the goodies! Yes, you should probably assemble them before you eat them. No, you don’t have to, it was just a suggestion!

Even the cooks helper approves.

Taste test approved.

Love,

Bobbie

13 responses »

  1. Hhhhmm, well, if I leave NOW, I could be there in three days. Driving straight through. Would there be any left?

    Reply
  2. Shut UP! I love Little Debbie’s Oatmeal Pies. Love. Seriously I can eat an entire box myself. That is why I don’t buy them at all. I try not to even glance at the Little Debbie section at the grocery. But homemade? I think I can justify those :) Thanks for the recipe!

    Reply
  3. OMdoG those look delicious!

    Reply
  4. Looks yummy!! I can’t wait to try making these. I hope they turn out as delicious looking as yours. :)

    Reply
  5. Excuse me, do you have my address? :D :

    Reply
  6. Yum O!!! Uh, speaking for the very last photo, that is. LOL The cookies look pretty scrumptious too.

    Thanks for posting a beauty-baby photo for this mama. Hope your new schedule and juggles are all oatmeals-and-cream by now. Love your posts, Bobbie.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 297 other followers

